SUNSHINE

This poem was published nearly three years ago and I’ve decided to reproduce it here.

I’m sitting

on a park bench

seeing nature’s skeletal frames

all around me

 

And I’m smiling

as I see you

lying on a blanket

of nature’s shredded skin

 

You’ve a radiance

that surrounds you

and keeps me warm

despite the cold

 

And your splashing

of nature’s skin

reminds me of your love of the pool

 

You’re also floating

in the water

on your back

 

On your back

is where I next see you

Floating between life and death

 

The cadence of your beat

helping my comfort

then bleep….

 

A watery film obscures my vision

and I close my eyes

 

When they open

my vision’s returned

but you have not

and the pile you played on is undisturbed

 

Just like my memory of you

My darling sunshine

This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

